What have I gotten myself into?

So my partner has stumbled onto mechanical keyboards…

He’s been obsessed with them for months now… and I think I’ve caught the bug. I mean, who doesn’t enjoy the tactile feeling of the perfect key stroke while typing? Especially now that I’m spending more and more time at my computer. I’ve already given up using they keyboard from my laptop (even though it’s the light-up-gaming-kind) in favour of a Bluetooth (Logitech) option so I can avoid developing a hunch while I write.

My current Logitech Bluetooth Keyboard.

But after my partner purchased a grab bag of 3 lb of key caps and is building his own keyboard from scratch, I couldn’t help playing with the options to make my own Frankenkeyboard.

My Frankenkeyboard layout from the grab bag of keycaps. I think my favourite are the Alice in Wonderland themed keys 🙂

Will I enjoy typing on this new mechanical Bluetooth keyboard? Yes.

Will the tactile nature of the keys bring me satisfaction at term paper time? Yes.

Will the backlights give me hours of soothing pleasure while typing? Yes.

Will I be accurate with the Frankenkeys? Absolutely not.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

One thought on “What have I gotten myself into?

Leave a comment