So this is me.

My pronouns are she / her. I grew up on the lands of the Opaskwayak Cree Nation in a small northern town in Manitoba called The Pas. I moved to Vancouver Island in 2007 and now live, work, play, teach, and learn on the ancestral and unceeded lands of The Coast Salish people in the Cowichan Valley. I’ve been teaching English First Peoples, Literary Studies, Creative Writing, Communications, Composition, New Media Studies and Yearbook to grades 10-12 since 2004. My passion is finding and creating opportunities and experiences for young people to find, strengthen, and express their voices through authentic venues, like Victorious Voices SLAM poetry.

I believe that play is at the heart of learning.

I’ve been playing with blended learning and a “paperless” classroom for the past few years, and am interested in the impact it has on learning and teaching. I’m also curious about the role of educational technology in enriching discussions and community-building, especially in online contexts. I’m eager to explore new media literacies in our ever evolving online culture.

Some more stuff about me . . .

  • I enjoy boxing, yoga, cycling, hiking, and my partner and I recently thought it would be a good idea to take up skateboarding. Lots of bruises I can tell you.
  • I dabble in calligraphy and letter art
  • I’m a board game geek, with an intense collection of 200ish tabletop games
  • I love pop culture, binging on TV and watching movies
  • I’m passionate about writing and experimenting with literature, especially poetry
  • I’m an avid reader, especially of Speculative Fiction and I have a thing for Canadian authors.
  • I just thoroughly enjoyed (and highly recommend) Johnny Appleseed and am currently reading Love After the End, both by Joshua Whitehead, a former student of mine (proud teacher here!)

Please feel free to reach out on social media or send a message using the form below.

send me a message

Leave a comment